top of page

Fitness: RELAX AND FIND THE EASE, THE BENEFITS OF YOGA AND MEDITATION


Sometimes we don’t know what to say or what to do. Between crazy schedules, stresses at work, in the home, with friends or in our community, sometimes we have no way of expressing our true feelings in what we think is in an appropriate manner. Our minds are consistently buzzing with sensory overload and sometimes it can be overwhelming. We want to yell, hide, do whatever we can to release our bodies and minds of these anxieties, but is that really the way to handle our emotions?

Something that every person needs to remember is that for every stressful or negative moment, there are a multitude of wonderful moments and caring people who radiate positivity and joy. It is up to us as individuals to choose to celebrate all that is good with our world, and move forward with an optimistic spirit.

One of the things that helps me find peace and positivitiy is my Yoga and Meditation practice. Taking a class allows me to unplug, and get back to me; listening to the instructor lead students through the asanas, helping me to find the place in my body and mind where nothing else really matters has always been an outlet for me. After class, I’m able to take on my day more efficiently and clearly–sorting through any problems with ease, breathing through the challenges, balancing out the obstacles, and always remembering to take time for myself… even if it is for 5 minutes.

As a yoga guide and instructor, I’m able to share my practice with others. I give thanks for every Yoga session I have, whether it’s with myself, a client or a class. In class we move with the focus on the breath and finding the ease through the movement. The movements help you to feel released, and is an escape from the restrictions of daily life, allowing you to get deeper into you. Afterwards the movements, we join together in a mediation to help honor our bodies.

I always enjoy Visualization Mediation because it gives my mind something to focus on as I fall in a meditative state and am able to enjoy every inhale, feeling stronger, and exhale, relaxing more deeply. Visualization Meditation also allows me to travel to a safe and comforting place where I am nothing but happy and any negativity is shut out. Yoga and Meditation have been my saving grace. When things in the world are becoming a little too stressful, scary or out of my control, I find myself on my mat–moving, breathing, twisting, lengthening, sweating, balancing and being in the present moment, aware of my surroundings, my body and my mind. Doing this producing endorphin’s giving our bodies the physical sensations of joy.

Want to start a meditation practice but not sure how? Try my Visualization Mediation:

Laying on a flat and supportive surface with spine aligned, we slowly feel ourselves beginning to sink deeply into the surface that we are laying upon. We begin to feel heavy, being pulled into the earth. First our feet, then legs, core, arms, shoulders and head–all grounding. As our bodies feel heavier and heavier, we feel as if we are sinking into a cloud. Our muscles all fully relax into our cloud as it begins to lift off the ground and float higher and higher in to the clear blue sky. As we are floating on we feel the warmth of the sun upon our skin, comforting and safe. We feel the breeze upon our face, relaxing. Any worries and troubles we may have are washed away like a passing spring shower, cooling and refreshing. We feel cleansed, ready to start a new day. As we float on, feeling comforted and happy we realize we are being brought to a place special in our hearts. As the cloud drifts closer, we being to see our special place take shape: What does this place look like? A beach, a rain forest, the mountains, our home? As we are arriving at the place dearest to us; in our minds, let’s describe every detail so we may return to it any time we need to….

Make this Meditation work during the day by adding a gentle alarm that will ease you to wake up, and remember the below as you’re beginning to move:

…Let’s begin to deepen our inhales and exhales as we return to our cloud and slowly drift back from our special place. Remember we can always return to this place any time we want to–all we have to do is close our eyes. Slowly begin to wiggle toes and fingers, awakening our bodies for the rest of the day. Let’s hug our right knee into our chest, and then let’s have our left knee join it–bringing both knees into our chest, hugging them in, beginning to rock gently side to side as we create a bit of movement in our bodies. Rotating to the right side, let’s lie in a comforting position. Using the left arm as support, and keeping eyes closed, sit up and come into a cross legged position. Inhale, breathing in strength, exhale, remember to always find the ease. Let’s be thankful for this day, for our loved ones, and for having the courage to try something new today.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page