top of page

Lifestyle: Yoga Inspired Jewelry


While I strongly believe that yoga is not only a positive work out and good for one's overall health and wellness, I also believe that it is indeed an art form in itself. Another form of art is designing jewelry. I had the chance to interview the beautiful Satya Scainetti in 2010; she has managed to combine these two by developing yoga inspired jewlery for the masses to enjoy the beauty and meaning of such a sacred past time.

Your jewelry “blends spiritual symbols, healing gemstones and sacred meanings” what was your initial inspiration and intent when you decided to design jewelry with this type of focus?

It was inspired after a month long yoga teacher training. I was given my spiritual name Satya and the idea came through in a dream. My teacher’s quote is “The Paths are Many the Truth is One” and I thought we could translate that in the jewelry. Also it was right after 9/11 and with all the conflict around us it felt important to bridge the gap of beliefs.

The look for jewelry is inspired by your many travels across the world, what location has been your most inspirational journey?

India and Thailand. I consider myself a Yogi Buddhist and to be around both cultures that emanate what I strive to be in my life is very inspiring

Who has motivated you the most throughout your journey?

Of course God and my yoga practice is a huge part of my inspiration and motivation. Before that my father; he taught me to always follow my dreams and that I could do anything.

What is your favorite piece from your collection?

I love the Mala or prayer beads. We make them in all different stones but what it is for me is the reminder of prayer and how powerful it is.

Satya Jewelry donates a percentage of sales to children’s organizations through the Satya Foundation, which provides help and opportunities to children all over the world—what or who encouraged you to create this foundation?

Before I started the company, my background was social worker. I studied and worked as a social worker for over 12 years. When we started the business the original intention was to donate a percentage of all our sales to children around the world from the beginning. It was always so frustrating as a social worker not really making a difference because of lack of funding etc. Now with the foundation we know exactly where the money is going and what children are being touched by it.

Your designs have been worn by many famous celebrities including Courtney Cox, Susan Sarandon, Scarlett Johansen and Rachel Bilson as well as featured in feature films and hit reality shows. You have been named “Best Everyday Jewelry” by New York Magazine’s Best of New York issue, and have been featured in Women’s Health, Glamour, Vanity Fair, InStyle and on the Today show—what’s next for Satya?

For me I am hoping to build our foundation. We designed a piece for Haiti with Patricia Arquette and raised over $80,000 in a couple of months—to me that is exciting. I want to stay strong on our original intention and that is to give back. I hope our company keeps weathering the economy so we can do that. So far so good!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page