top of page

Fitness: IntenSati


I have been very blessed to have the opportunity to be introduced to a number of very inspiring people being in the industry that I'm in, but it was my cousin Hilary who introduced me to Patricia Moreno in 2010,who is the founder of IntenSati, a method of working out which has a style all it's own. Patricia a leader in the health and wellness world, particularly in NYC where her fitness program has inspired many to not only get fit, but to also believe in the power of themselves. Read below for my interview with Patricia about IntenSati, Motherhood and what inspires her!

You created IntenSati, which is coined as your signature method of “embodying affirmations in a series of empowering physical exercises.” It is high energy and combines many different styles of working out from martial arts, to yoga, to aerobics. What was your inspiration to create a type of work out that is not only physical, but also spiritual?

I believe that losing weight and feeling good about your body is much more than just calories in and calories out. I think that your perception of yourself and the thoughts and beliefs you have about yourself actually help to make the biggest difference of all. I struggled in the past with eating disorders and I realized in order to succeed at living in a body that I loved I had to be willing to be more loving first. I feel that we can change the way we think about ourselves and see ourselves by being more conscious and choosing thoughts that are loving instead of criticizing. Adding the element of exercise helps to emotionalize the affirmations, which is what creates change—positive change!

You started by teaching your classes at Equinox Fitness Clubs in New York City and all around the world—what was your motivation to go from practitioner to instructor?

I have been teaching since I was in high school and as soon as I took my first class I was sure I wanted to teach. I loved the idea of creating workouts and choreography and supporting people in attaining their goal in feeling great about their body.

When you were young, you went through many health struggles growing up—as an adult looking back, what would you tell the child you?

As some may know I had a baby {Olivia Moreno-Mori was born 9/18/2010} and I have been thinking a lot about how I will raise her and what will be some of the important lessons I want to pass on and teach her. I think being nurtured, loved and listened to is a big part of dealing with difficult situations of any kind and at any age. I am the 9th child of 11 children and I think that in such a busy household it was not easy to feel that one on one attention and love. I will do my best to make sure my daughter feels that no matter what challenge she faces she is not alone and together as a family we can handle anything.

You’ve traveled all around the world teaching at many different retreats and locations—which trip has been the most moving to you and your practice?

I love traveling and introducing my teaching to different groups of people all over the world; different cultures respond differently. Because IntenSati is language based it is not easy to teach it in non‐English speaking countries. When I went to Israel I was supposed to teach a yoga class and decided I wanted to take a chance and introduce IntenSati to them. They seemed to have a good grasp of the English language and I was inspired to give it a try. There were about 200 students in class and the transformation in the room was palpable. They participated fully and it made such a positive impact on them that they cried and walked out of the room deeply moved. Some of them even flew to New York City to train to lead IntenSati in Israel. Even today I got an email from someone who said that workout changed their life and they want to bring it to Israel!

Who has been the most inspirational to your journey?

I have had so many it is truly hard to pick just one. My father was a huge inspiration to me. He taught me from a very young age to believe that anything is possible and that we as human beings are capable of great things far beyond what we think we are capable of. That lead me to study the power of the mind and meditation techniques that I incorporate into my work these days.

You have been featured in numerous media outlets, including the Today show, CNN Health, Nickelodeon, New York Times, Fitness, Vogue, and Elle Magazine as well as named one of the top 10 women who shape the world by Shape magazine. You have been sponsored by global brands such as Nike, Reebok, and Lululemon Athletica, choreographed over 10 workout DVDs and authored a best seller book; What has been your favorite achievement to date?

So far my favorite achievement to date has been getting pregnant! It took me 2 years to get pregnant.... I believe that my work in developing the IntenSati method has been my strength in keeping the faith and taking powerful action.

What is the most important affirmation that you tell yourself every day?

“All I need is within me now, to do what I want to do and to be who I want to be. No person or thing can keep from me what the universe has in store for me. All is well.”

You conduct teacher trainings for all of those who want to instruct IntenSati classes; what is one thing that you tell your leaders to be aware of when they are teaching their own classes?

To lead by example and to be honest about their own journey. IntenSati is a way of life and the greatest leaders are those that show their struggles as well as their successes.

What is next for Patricia?

I love where I am right now, being in complete awe of what a spectacular time in my life I am experiencing. I am so happy and grateful these days that I can hardly think about much else. My biggest challenge will be to create a balance between growing the awareness of IntenSati and being a mom. A great adventure to be on!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page