top of page

Nutrition: To be or not to be.... Gluten Free


Got gluten? It seems as though that’s one of today’s top questions when going grocery shopping. Everyone wants to know exactly what products are gluten free and “safe” to eat, but what exactly is gluten and why is it so unpopular?

Personally, it was my mother—and chronic hypochondriac –who brought this latest trend to my attention. When I went back to Rhode Island, USA to visit where I grew up, I found myself being dragged into her kitchen and shown all the gluten-free breads and other products that she had recently purchased: “Brittany you’d be so proud, I eat all gluten free and I’m so healthy now!” It was then when I had a moment: Wait, what’s so bad about gluten? Do I even know what gluten really is?

Gluten is defined as a protein composite that appears in foods processed from wheat, barley and rye. In short, it is what gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape.

It was reported that there was evidence that proved eating gluten, a natural inflammatory causing bloating, had the ability to set off a negative reaction in the intestines and immune systems of those who have even just a slight sensitivity to it. Who are these people? One in every twenty Americans. That’s kind of a lot when there are over 307 Million people living in the United States.

What could be the reason as to why so many people are developing a higher sensitivity to gluten? In today’s society it seems as though there is higher gluten content in wheat, making its sensitivity more prevalent than it once was.

What is this negative reaction that many are feeling? Anywhere from chronic fatigue, aches and pains, gastrointestinal problems and a general feeling of blah. In the long-term, if those who are prone to sensitivity keep indulging, gluten can lead diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, osteoporosis and even mental disease such as depression and behavioral problems with children.

What should you do if you suspect you have a problem? For now, a gluten-free diet is the only treatment recommended for gluten sensitivity. Speak to your doctor and try removing gluten from your diet for a small stint (two weeks, to a month—remember, the longer you’re off it, the more you will be able to see if there is a change).

After leaving Mom’s kitchen in RI and doing a bit of research, I decided to try to replace what I would normally eat with their gluten free counterparts as much as possible; essentially testing myself to see if I could feel a difference. It’s as easy as swapping foods such as wheat pasta, cous cous and wheat bread with brown rice pasta and quinoa. After making the switch I have felt amazing! Personally I feel lighter and more energized, even after eating a “big” meal.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page